Monthly diagnostic test

  1. Choose the correct form of the verb: use simple present and simple past ( do not use contractions)

1.- I  to do that last Monday ( want)
I wanted to do that last Monday.

2.-You were there, I  you ( see)
-You were there, I saw you.

3.- Lis  5 years old ( be)
– Lis is 5 years old.

4.- Does she  chocolate? ( like)
– Does she like chocolate ?

5.- Sarahi  the questions ( not – answer)
Sarahi didn’t answer the questions .

6.- Daniela  with him last week ( not- break up)
– Daniela didn’t break up with him last week.

7.-  a dog last month? ( she – have )
Dose she have a dog last month?

8.- It was hot in the room, so I  the window ( open)
It was hot in the room so I opened the window.

9.- The film was very long, it  at 7:15 and finished at 10:00( start)
– The film was very long, it  started at 7:15 and finished at 10:00

10.- You  traveled around the world every year ( travel )

11.-  me? ( he – hate )
-Does he hate me?

12.- The accident  last Sunday ( happen)
The accident happened last Sunday.

13.- Robert  maths ( not- like)
Robert doesn’t like maths.

14.- Anna’s grandfather  when he was 90 years old ( die)
– Anna’s grandfather died when he was 90 years old

15.- They  their free time  last weekend. (enjoy)
They enjoyed their free time last weekend.

16.- Last year, we  our free time ( enjoy)
Last year, we enjoyed our free time.

17.- Jessica  to the concert last weekend ( go)
– Jessica  went to the concert last weekend.

18.- Paul and Cris always  in the classroom ( chat)
.- Paul and Cris always  chat in the classroom

19.- Rocio  fast ( run)
– Rocio runs fast.

20 .- My friend  to the supermarket every day ( go)
– My friend goes  to the supermarket every day

2) Complete the following sentences using an appropriate present continuous or past continuous tense form.

1. I am watering the plants in the morning.

2. What were you doing at 6 o’clock yesterday evening?

3. They were waiting for the bus when the accident happened.

4. She is getting impatient at this moment..

5. The boys are playing in the garden when he entered..

6. It is raining cats and dogs now.

7. I am revising my lessons now.

8. Somebody was knocking at the door at that moment..

9. We were waiting for the guests to turn up  yesterday whole evening..

10. The students were shouting slogans outside the campus last month.

11. The birds are flying in the sky now.

12. John and Sandra were expecting their first child when I saw them for the first time.

3) Complete the sentences with Present Perfect tense 

  1. She has finished the bird house today. (to finish)
  2. We   haven’t translated   the whole text yet. (not / to translate)
  3. Have you ever been  to Rome? (to be)
  4. Where have you been  lately? (to be)
  5. He has locked the door. (to lock)
  6. I hasn’t heard from you for ages. (not / to hear)
  7. Tom already has graduated from university. (to graduate)
  8. Have the children prepared for the concert? (to prepare for)
  9. What has Kate eaten for breakfast today? (to eat)
  10. They have watched  an interesting program this week. (to watch)
  11. He hasn’t eaten an ice-cream since August. (not / to eat)
  12. We have found the way. (to find)
  13. How has he spent all of his money? (to spend)
  14. Jim and Jill have answered the question right. (to answer)
  15. Rachel hasn’t talked to  him since Friday. (not / to talk to)
  16. -Have you lost your mind? (to lose)
  17. What has your mother baked for your birthday? (to bake)
  18. Has he ever been to Niagara Falls? (to be)
  19. They haven’t received  any answer yet. (not / to receive)
  20. Where have   you been this year? (to be)

4) Choose present perfect simple or continuous.

1) Have they arrived already?
2) Lucy has run 2000 meters today.
3) I have been cleaning all morning – I’m fed up!
4) How long have you known Simon?
5) I have been drinking more water recently and I feel better.
6) Sorry about the mess! I have been baking.
7) How many times have you taken this exam?
8) He has eaten six bars of chocolate today.
9) Julie has cooked dinner. Let’s go and eat!
10) The students have finished their exams. They’re very happy.
11) The baby’s face is really dirty. What has he eaten?
12) Iona is exhausted these days. She has been working too hard recently.
13) Luke has never been abroad.
14) I have been waiting three hours already!
15) Have you finished your homework yet?
16) How long have you been a lawyer?
17) I have been reading your book all day. It’s very interesting, but I’m only on chapter 2.
18) She has been drinking ten glasses of water!
19) I have had my dog for sixteen years.
20) Help, I have lost my wallet. How can I get home?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *